Australian Open 2017 Tournament Rules

Posted on

The Australian Open 2017 will be run using the FIDE laws of chess.


Chief Arbiter – IA Peter Tsai
Deputy Chief Arbiter – IA Keong Ang
Arbiter – FA Michael D’Arcy
Arbiter – NA Martin Harmon

Arbiter – NA Max Kershaw

Mobile Phone policy:

Players are prohibited from having electronic communication devices within the playing venue. Players must completely switch off and surrender such devices during their game. Penalty for breaching this policy is loss of game.

Time Controls:

Open Division – 90 minutes for 40 moves, followed by 30 minutes for remaining moves, with 30 seconds added from move 1.

Minor Division – 90 minutes + 30 seconds per move from move 1.

Disputes procedure:

Disputes must be submitted in writing to the Tournament Director in writing. Disputes will be determined by a disputes committee. Please see notices in the playing hall for further information.

Pairing Method:

Vega will be used with the Dutch Swiss Pairing System

Policy on 1/2pt byes:

A maximum of 1 half point bye will be available during the tournament, excluding the final 3 rounds.